Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

The Constituent Assembly of India

The Constituent Assembly of India was elected to write the Constitution of India, and served as its first Parliament as an independent nation. The Constituent Assembly of India was set up as a result of negotiations between the Indian leaders and members of the British Cabinet Mission. The constituent assembly was elected indirectly by the members of the Provincial legislative assembly. The Congress secured an overwhelming majority in the general seats while the Muslim League managed to sweep almost all the seats reserved for Muslims.

It first met on December 9, 1946 in Delhi, while India was still under British rule. On August 15, 1947, India became an independent nation, and the Constituent Assembly became India's Parliament.

Dr. Sachidanand Sinha was the first president of the Constituent Assembly when it met on December 9, 1946. Dr. Rajendra Prasad then became the President of the Constituent Assembly. The Assembly approved the Constitution on January 26, 1949, making it official. On January 26, 1950, the Constitution took effect.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours