Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

Structure of the Union Government of India

The basic form of the Union Government envisaged in the Constitution was introduced by Dr. Ambedkar. The union government, as India's central government is known, is divided into three distinct but interrelated branches: legislative, executive, and judicial. The state is governed at various levels with separate roles assigned to the Executive, Legislature and the Judiciary.

The legislature consists of ‘The Parliament of India’, which is headed by the President and constitutes the two Houses, known as Rajya Sabha or Upper House (Council of States) and Lok Sabha or Lower House (House of the People). The executive branch consists of the president, vice president, and a Council of Ministers, led by the prime minister. The Apex Judiciary body in the country is the Supreme Court followed by the High Courts of the state. The Judiciary is independent of the executive.

India adopted a Parliamentary form of government, with the President as the nominal head of the Executive and the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers wielding actual power.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours