Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

Rajya Sabha of India

The Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Its membership is limited to 250 members, 12 of whom are chosen by the President of India for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services. These members are known as nominated members. The remainder of the body is elected by the state and territorial legislatures.
The term of office for Rajya Sabha members is for six years, with one third of the members facing re-election every two years. Rajya Sabha is not subjected to dissolution.

The Vice President of India is the ex- officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha held its first sitting on May 13, 1952.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours