Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

Parliament of India

The Parliament of India is the federal and supreme legislative body of India. It consists of two houses – the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. It is located in New Delhi. Any bill can become an act only after it is passed by both the houses of the Parliament and assented by the President. The Central Hall of the Parliament is used for combined sittings of the lower and upper houses.
The Lok Sabha is also known as the "House of the People". Almost all of its members are directly elected by citizens of India. It is the more powerful of the two houses and can precede or overrule the Rajya Sabha. The Lok Sabha has 545 members, 530 members from the states, 13 members from the Union territories and 2 nominated members representing the Anglo Indian community.

The Rajya Sabha is also known as "Council of States". Its members are indirectly elected by members of legislative bodies of the States. The Rajya Sabha has 250 members in all.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours