Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

Land utilisation

The land area in India was classified into five categories, known as the five-fold land utilisation classification till 1949-50. To break up the broad categories into smaller constituents for better comprehension, the Technical Committee on Co-ordination of Agricultural Statistics recommended a nine-fold land-use classification replacing the old five-fold classification and also recommended standard concepts and definitions for all the states to follow.

According to Land Use Statistics, area under forest had increased and according to the Agriculture Census, the area operated by large holdings has declined. Similarly, the area operated under marginal holdings has increased. Thus, this indicates that land is getting fragmented.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours