Guide to India :  
Browse By Famous Catagories

Government of India

The Government of India officially referred to as the Union Government, and commonly known as Central Government, was established by the Constitution of India. It is the governing authority of the Republic of India, i.e. the 28 states and 7 union territories.
India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of government. The Republic is governed in terms of the Constitution. The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. Real executive power vests in a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as head of government. The State resembles the federal system. In the states, the Governor is the head of Executive, but real executive power vests with the Chief Minister who heads the Council of Ministers.

The judicial setup of the country is headed by the Chief justice. According to the Constitution, elections are to be held once in every five years, unless the parliament dissolves earlier.

The Parliament consists of two houses. The Lower House is called the Lok Sabha and the Upper House is called the Rajya Sabha.
Browse By Famous Catagories
» India Tour Packages «
» India Cultural Tour Packages
» Leh Tour
» India Wildlife Tours
» India Pilgrimage Tours